General Information

How do I file?

The Notification Process

Resources
Human Rights Act
Rules of Procedure
Guides & Information
Forms


Annual Reports

Notification Status

Decisions

Hearings

Appeals

Seeking Legal Counsel

Tribunal Members & Staff

The Tribunal 

Bonnie Almon
Chair 

 

For the past 10 years Ms. Almon has lived and worked in Nunavut. She has been a Justice of the Peace and Coroner for the territory since 2010. She has served on several boards and committees throughout the territory taking a special interest in the area of human rights. Bonnie has a Bachelor’s Degree in Social Work and is now a Regional Director of Addiction Services.
 

 

Ookalik Curley
Vice-Chair

 

Ms. Curley was born in and continues to live in Iqaluit, Nunavut. She has been with the Government of Nunavut for 10 years now and was an employee of the Municipality of Iqaluit for over 8 years. She is a graduate of Churchill Vocational Centre and received her Executive Certificate in Conflict Management from Stitt Feld Handy Group and the Faculty of Law, University of Windsor. She has been a member of various non-profit organizations in Iqaluit and is currently a member of Tukisigiarvik Society and Labour Standards Board.

Rosie Tanuyak-Ell
Executive Director 

 

Rosie Tanuyak-Ell was raised in Chesterfield Inlet. Rosie and her family moved to Coral Harbour in 1996. In the summer of 1999, she began working for the GN as the Income Support worker. Rosie commenced working with the Tribunal in March of 2006. She has found the experience thus far worthwhile as she finds it interesting dealing with cross cultural individuals and agencies.

Amanda Hanson Main
Member at Large 

 

  

Amanda Hanson Main is a self-employed contractor focused on regulatory processes in Nunavut, environmental and socio-economic assessment, and community and stakeholder engagement. She holds a Master of Science and has worked in the field of environmental assessment for nearly a decade, the majority of which was during her 8 years with the Nunavut Impact Review Board where she served as the Director, Technical Services. Amanda has spent terms sitting as a Board Member to the Alberta Public Interest Research Group and as a Councillor for the Hamlet of Cambridge Bay. She has also dedicated many hours to community, youth, and hockey programs in Nunavut. Amanda relocated from Alberta to Cambridge Bay in 2007 and more recently, in 2015 she and her family moved to her husband’s hometown of Arviat.

Trisha Makpah
Member at Large 

 

Trisha Makpah was appointed to the Nunavut Human Rights Tribunal in December, 2014. She currently lives in Rankin Inlet where she grew up and has been working for the Government of Nunavut for 15 years, currently with Nunavut Liquor Management as the Manager, Licensing & Enforcement. Trisha has 4 children between the ages of 1 and 18. She has a Diploma in Management Development and is currently taking courses through correspondence. She is the Chairperson for a local non-profit organization (volunteer position). She has always been interested in the adjudicative process.

Maureen Doherty
Kivalliq representative 

 

Maureen Doherty is Coordinator of Community Programs Kivalliq for Nunavut Arctic College. She holds a Master of Adult Education and has worked in the field of adult education for many years since her arrival north in 1983. Maureen served as a Justice of the Peace in the Baffin Region and was Executive Director of Qulliit Nunavut Status of Women. She has been active in the Women’s, Human Rights, Disability and Pride Committees within the Public Service Alliance of Canada. A longtime resident of Nunavut, she has lived in Kimmirut, Arctic Bay, Nanisivik, Iqaluit, Igloolik and Rankin Inlet. Maureen served on the Steering Committee for the creation of the Nunavut Human Rights Act.

Leo Angootealuk
Human Rights Officer

 

Leo Angootealuk has been a Human Rights Officer since March of 2006. Prior to joining the Tribunal Leo worked at the Sakku School in Coral Harbour as a student support worker.

Reema Khawja
Legal Counsel

 

Reema Khawja specializes in human rights, administrative law and constitutional law. She has worked for the Human Rights Tribunal of Ontario and the Ontario Human Rights Commission for over eleven years. She has also practiced law in the Constitutional Law Branch at Ontario’s Ministry of the Attorney General and as a litigation lawyer with the law firm of McCarthy Tétrault.

Sheriden Barnett
Mediator

Sheriden Barnett is the founder of the Boreal Centre for Dispute Resolution, located on the north shore of Lake Superior at Thunder Bay, Ontario. She has studied conflict theory, mediation and peace building extensively, including at the internationally recognized International Conflict Research Institute at the University of Ulster, Northern Ireland, and at Osgoode Hall Law School where she earned a Master of Laws (ADR) degree in 2004.

Since 1988, Sheriden has worked with Federal, Territorial and First Nations governments in the areas of conflict resolution, land claims, and human rights. She has been working with the Nunavut Human Rights Tribunal as a mediator, trainer, and mentor since its inception.

Renseignements généraux

Comment puis-je déposer une plainte?

Le processus de notification

Ressources
Lois sur les droits de la personne
Règles de procédure
Guides et information
Formulaires


Rapports annuels

État des Notifications

Décisions

Audience

Appels

Recherche d’avis juridique

Membres du tribunal et personnel

Le Tribunal 

Bonnie Almon
Présidente

Au cours des 10 dernières années, madame Almon a vécu et travaillé au Nunavut. Elle a exercé les fonctions de juge de paix et de coroner du territoire depuis 2010. Elle a fait partie de plusieurs conseils et comités, dans l’ensemble du territoire, manifestant un intérêt particulier pour la question des droits de la personne. Bonnie est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en travail social et est aujourd’hui directrice régionale des services relatifs aux toxicomanies.
 

 

Ookalik Curley
Vice-président

Madame Curley est née à Iqaluit, au Nunavut, où elle vit encore aujourd’hui. Elle a travaillé pour le gouvernement du Nunavut pendant 10 ans et a été employée de la municipalité d’Iqaluit pendant plus de 8 ans. Elle est diplômée du Churchill Vocational Centre et a obtenu son Certificat en gestion des conflits du Stitt Feld Handy Group et de la faculté de droit de l’Université de Windsor. Elle a été membre de divers organismes sans but lucratif, à Iqaluit, et est actuellement membre de la société Tukisigiarvik et de la Commission des normes du travail.

Rosie Tanuyak-Ell
Directrice exécutive

Rosie Tanuyak-Ell a grandi à Chesterfield Inlet. Rosie et sa famille ont déménagé à Coral Harbour en 1996. Au cours de l’été 1999, elle a commencé à travailler pour le GN à titre de préposée au soutien du revenu. Rosie a commencé à travailler au Tribunal en mars 2006. Elle a, à ce jour, trouvé l’expérience intéressante parce qu’elle lui permet de traiter avec des personnes et agences interculturelles.

Amanda Hanson Main
Membre à titre personnel

Madame Amanda Hanson Main, travailleuse autonome, exploite une entreprise dans le domaine des processus de réglementation du Nunavut, de l’évaluation socio-économique et environnementale, et de la mobilisation des communautés et parties prenantes. Titulaire d’une maîtrise en sciences, elle a œuvré dans le domaine de l’évaluation environnementale pendant près d’une décennie. Son travail a alors surtout consisté à diriger les services techniques au sein de la Commission du Nunavut chargée de l’examen des répercussions, et ce, durant huit ans. Madame Hanson Main a siégé au conseil de l’Alberta Public Interest Research Group et a été conseillère au hameau de Cambridge Bay. Elle a également consacré de nombreuses heures aux programmes communautaires, notamment ceux axés sur les jeunes et le hockey. Madame Hanson Main a déménagé d’Alberta à Cambridge Bay en 2007, pour s’installer ensuite avec sa famille dans la ville d’origine de son époux, Arviat, en 2015.

 

Trisha Makpah
Membre à titre personnel

Trisha Makpah a été nommée au Tribunal des droits de la personne du Nunavut, en décembre 2014. Elle vit actuellement à Rankin Inlet, où elle a grandi et a travaillé pour le gouvernement du Nunavut pendant 15 ans, et actuellement au bureau chef de la gestion des alcools à titre de gestionnaire, licences et application des lois. Trisha a 4 enfants, âgés entre 1 an et 18 ans. Elle est titulaire d’un diplôme en développement de gestion et suit actuellement des cours par correspondance. Elle est présidente d’un organisme sans but lucratif local (poste bénévole). Elle s’est toujours intéressée au processus d’arbitrage.

Maureen Doherty
Représentante de Kivalliq

 

Maureen Doherty est coordonnatrice des programmes communautaires au Collège de l’Arctique du Nunavut. Elle est titulaire d’une maîtrise en éducation des adultes et a travaillé dans le secteur de l’éducation aux adultes depuis son arrivée dans le Nord, en 1983. Maureen a exercé les fonctions de juge de paix dans la région de Baffin et a été directrice générale de Qulliit - Le Conseil du statut de la femme du Nunavut. Elle a été active dans les comités sur le statut de la femme, les droits de la personne, l’invalidité et la fierté, à l’Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada. Depuis longtemps résidente du Nunavut, elle a vécu à Kimmirut, Arctic Bay, Nanisivik, Iqaluit, Igloolik et Rankin Inlet. Maureen a participé au comité directeur de la création de la Loi sur les droits de la personne du Nunavut.

Leo Angootealuk
Agent des droits de la personne

Leo Angootealuk a été Agent des droits de la personne depuis mars 2006. Avant de se joindre au Tribunal, Leo a travaillé à l’école Sakku de Coral Harbour à titre de travailleur de soutien aux étudiants.

Reema Khawja
Conseillere juridique

Reema Khawja se spécialise en droits de la personne, en droit administratif et en droit constitutionnel. Elle travaille au Tribunal des droits de la personne de l’Ontario et à la Commission des droits de la personne de l’Ontario depuis plus de onze ans. Elle a également pratiqué le droit au bureau de droit constitutionnel du ministère du Procureur général de l’Ontario et à titre d’avocate spécialisée en litige auprès du cabinet d’avocats McCarthy Tétrault.

Sheriden Barnett
Médiatrice

Sheriden Barnett est la fondatrice du Boreal Centre for Dispute Resolution, situé sur la rive nord du Lac Supérieur, à Thunder Bay. Elle a étudié de façon approfondie la théorie des conflits, la médiation et la consolidation de la paix, y compris au International Conflict Research Institute, de réputation internationale, de l’University of Ulster, en Irlande du Nord, et à l’école de droit Osgoode Hall, où elle a obtenu une maîtrise en droit (ADR), en 2004.

Depuis 1988, Sheriden a travaillé aux gouvernements fédéral, territorial et des Premières Nations dans le domaine de la résolution de conflits, des revendications territoriales et des droits de la personne. Elle a travaillé au Tribunal des droits de la personne comme médiatrice, formatrice et mentor, depuis la création de l’instance.