General Information

How do I file?

The Notification Process

Resources
Human Rights Act
Rules of Procedure
Guides & Information
Forms


Annual Reports

Notification Status

Decisions

Hearings

Appeals

Seeking Legal Counsel

Tribunal Members & Staff

General Information

What is the Nunavut Human Rights Act?
 
The Nunavut Human Rights Act is an act that was passed into law by the Legislative Assembly on November 05, 2003 to provide all people of Nunavut with the guarantee of having an equal opportunity to enjoy a full and productive life. It places responsibility on Government, all public agencies, boards and commissions and persons in Nunavut to fulfill this guarantee. Failure to provide equal opportunity is unlawful and subject to the provisions set forth in the Act.
 
Equality does not mean treating people the same. Equality in the human rights sense means taking into account the individual needs of people with the characteristics described in section 7 (1) of the Act so that they they may have the same opportunities as other people. It does not mean treating everyone as if they are exactly the same.
 
Application of the Act is to be done within an Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit (IQ) framework. The Act does not add or take away protections provided for in the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement.
 
The Act says it is against the law for any person, agency, business or government to unlawfully discriminate against any person in Nunavut.
 
What is Discrimination?
 
To unlawfully discriminate is to deny benefits or impose burdens, obligations or disadvantages on persons or groups of people who have any one of the characteristics mentioned in section 7(1) of the Act.
 
The Act does not allow discrimination when people are:
Here are two examples:
There are many specific grounds or personal characteristics that are prohibited under the Act.
 
The seventeen grounds are grouped as follows:
It is unlawful to harass anyone based on any one of the prohibited grounds. Harassment is “unwelcome” conduct.
 
Through the Act a Tribunal was established to administer and make decisions under The Act. Five individuals are appointed for a four year term. As of March 31, 2011, the Members are as follows:

What is a Tribunal?

The word “Tribunal” is borrowed from a Latin word, tribunus, meaning “magistrate” or “head of a tribe”. Tribunals in Canada are persons or groups of persons created by legislation to administer laws that are within the authority of the legislative body of a “Government”.
 
Tribunals in Canada are a number of people that form a board or committee created by legislation to hear and settle (judge) a particular matter. In Nunavut the Human Rights Tribunal consists of five people who are appointed by the Government of Nunavut to hear and settle cases of discrimination under the Nunavut Human Rights Act.
 
A Tribunal is established according to the legislation and obtains its authority and “power to act” from that legislation. The Nunavut Human Rights Tribunal’s authority and power to act is set forth in the Nunavut Human Rights Act.
 
Tribunals are different from “Boards” and “Agencies” established by legislation because of their “adjudicative” role. To adjudicate is to “judge” or “decide”. Having an adjudicative role also means that decisions must be made in a certain way, i.e. by following certain legal rules and principles, including the Principles of Fundamental Justice.
 
Because human rights are part of the “supreme law of Canada”, legislation that protects and enforces human rights in provinces and territories is referred to as “quasi-constitutional” law. “Quasi” simply means “as if it were” constitutional law.
 
Human Rights law is “quasi-constitutional” and is
The Nunavut Human Rights Tribunal is a direct access model unlike its counterparts in other territories and provinces which have commissions. The only other direct access Tribunals are in British Columbia and Ontario.
 
The direct access model does not have staff to investigate or gather evidence. The direct access Tribunal makes all the decisions based on the information presented in a notification. “Notifications” are documents consisting of an Application completed by Applicant and a Reply completed by Respondents. The Nunavut Human Rights staff members (Human Rights Officers) are not Tribunal members. The staff’s role is to provide information to the public on procedures and assist Parties (the Applicant and Respondent) in completing Notifications.
 
The Tribunal is the decision maker at all stages of proceedings defined under The Act. Tribunal members are to be independent of their appointers (the Government of Nunavut) and impartial (without favour to anyone) in all proceedings before the Tribunal.

Renseignements généraux

Comment puis-je déposer une plainte?

Le processus de notification

Ressources
Lois sur les droits de la personne
Règles de procédure
Guides et information
Formulaires


Rapports annuels

État des Notifications

Décisions

Audience

Appels

Recherche d’avis juridique

Membres du tribunal et personnel

Renseignements généraux

Qu’est-ce que la Loi sur les droits de la personne?

La Loi sur les droits de la personne du Nunavut est une loi qui a été adoptée par l’Assemblée législative le 5 novembre 2003 pour offrir à toute la population du Nunavut la garantie de jouir d’une vie pleine et productive. Elle rend le gouvernement, les agences, conseils et commissions publiques ainsi que les personnes du Nunavut responsables du respect de cette garantie. Le défaut d’offrir l’égalité des chances est illégal et assujetti aux dispositions de la Loi.

Égalité ne signifie pas un traitement égal pour tous. Égalité, au sens des droits de la personne, signifie la prise en compte des besoins individuels des personnes correspondant aux caractéristiques décrites à la section 7 (1) de la Loi afin qu’elles puissent avoir les mêmes occasions que les autres personnes. Cela ne signifie pas un traitement de tous comme ils étaient identiques.

L’application de la Loi doit être faite dans le respect des connaissances traditionnelles Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit (IQ). La Loi n’ajoute ni ne retire aucune protection prévue dans l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut.

La Loi stipule qu’il est contraire à la loi pour quiconque, personne, agence, entreprise ou gouvernement, de faire de la discrimination contre les personnes au Nunavut.

Qu’est-ce que la discrimination?

Faire une discrimination illégale, c’est refuser des avantages ou imposer des fardeaux, obligations ou désavantages aux personnes qui correspondent à une des caractéristiques mentionnées à la section 7 (1) de la Loi.

La Loi interdit la discrimination des personnes qui :

En voici deux exemples :

Les dix-sept facteurs de discrimination sont regroupés comme suit :

Il est illégal de harceler une personne pour l’un ou l’autre des facteurs de discrimination prévus par la Loi. Le harcèlement est une conduite « importune ».

En vertu de la Loi, un Tribunal a été créé pour administrer et rendre des décisions liées à la Loi. Cinq personnes ont été nommées pour un mandat de quatre ans. Au 2016, les membres sont :

Qu’est-ce qu’un Tribunal?

Le mot « Tribunal » est dérivé du mot latin « tribunus », qui signifie « magistrat » ou « tête d’une tribu ». Au Canada, par « Tribunal » on entend des personnes ou un groupe de personnes constitué en vertu de la loi et dont le mandat est d’appliquer les lois qui relèvent de l’autorité du corps législatif d’un « Gouvernement ».

Au Canada, on désigne par « Tribunal » un nombre de personnes qui forment un conseil ou un comité créé en vertu de la Loi pour auditionner et régler (juger) des causes particulières. Au Nunavut, le Tribunal des droits de la personne est constitué de cinq personnes qui sont nommées par le gouvernement du Nunavut pour auditionner et régler les cas de discrimination prévus par la Loi sur les droits de la personne du Nunavut.

Un Tribunal est établi conformément à la législation. Son autorité et son pouvoir d’action lui sont conférés par cette législation. L’autorité et le pouvoir d’action du Tribunal des droits de la personne du Nunavut sont définis dans la Loi sur les droits de la personne du Nunavut.

Les Tribunaux sont différents des « Commissions » et « Agences » établies par la législation à cause de leur rôle « judiciaire ». Le pouvoir judiciaire est le pouvoir de juger ou de décider. Le fait d’avoir un rôle judiciaire signifie également que des décisions doivent être prises d’une certaine façon, c’est-à-dire en suivant certaines règles et certains principes de loi, y compris les Principes de justice fondamentale.

Comme les droits de la personne relèvent de la « loi suprême du Canada », la législation qui protège et assure le respect des droits de la personne dans les provinces et territoires est qualifiée de loi « quasi-constitutionnelle ». Le mot « Quasi » signifie simplement « comme s’il s’agissait » d’une loi constitutionnelle.

La Loi sur les droits de la personne est « quasi-constitutionnelle » et est

Le Tribunal des droits de la personne du Nunavut respecte un modèle d’accès direct, contrairement à ses contreparties dans d’autres territoires et province dotés de commission. Les seuls autres Tribunaux à accès direct se trouvent en Colombie-Britannique et en Ontario.

Le modèle d’accès direct ne prévoit pas de personnel pour enquêter ou recueillir des preuves. Le Tribunal à accès direct prend toutes ses décisions en se fondant sur l’information présentée dans une Notification. Les « Notifications » sont des documents comprenant un Formulaire de demande qui est rempli par le Demandeur et une Réponse à une notification qui est remplie par les défendeurs. Les membres du personnel du Tribunal des droits de la personne du Nunavut (Agents des droits de la personne) ne sont pas des membres du Tribunal. Le rôle du personnel est de fournir de l’information au public au sujet des procédures et d’aider les Parties (le Demandeur et le Défendeur) à remplir les Notifications.

Le Tribunal est l’instance qui prend les décisions à toutes les étapes des procédures prévues par la Loi. Les membres du Tribunal doivent être indépendants de l’instance qui les a nommés (le gouvernement du Nunavut) et impartiaux (sans parti-pris pour quiconque) dans toutes les procédures devant le Tribunal.

Any links to other websites may not be available in French.